FTA welcomes Simpson’s appointment as TRAN chair

Tuesday 07 July 2009

Leading trade body the Freight Transport Association (FTA) welcomed news that Labour MEP Brian Simpson has been appointed as the Chair of the European Parliament’s Transport and Tourism (TRAN) Committee.

Chris Yarsley, FTA’s EU Affairs Manager, said:

“Brian Simpson has a track record of making common-sense decisions in the interests of the UK logistics industry. His support helped FTA improve operator standards across the EU by securing the soon-to-be-agreed new Admission to the Occupation and Access to the Market regulations.

“We congratulate Brian on his new role and expect to work even closer with him to realise our shared ambition to achieve true parity in Europe.”

Despite securing the high profile chairmanship of the committee, FTA is concerned that the UK’s voice may be somewhat diminished, with the loss of Timothy Kirkhope, now leader of the Conservatives in the European Parliament. While it welcomed the appointment of Conservative MEP Jacqueline Foster and the reappointment of UKIP MEP Mike Nattrass to the committee, FTA has warned that strong characters will be needed to ensure that the UK logistics interests are represented and that common sense prevails

Notes for editors

There will be 45 Full Members of the TRAN Committee, the names of the Substitutes have yet to be published.

Brian Simpson will be the sole Labour MEP on the TRAN Committee, Labour having lost one seat following the election.

Conservative MEP Jacqueline Foster (North West) will replace Timothy Kirkhope on the TRAN Committee.

The LibDems remain unrepresented.

UKIP retain Mike Nattrass on the TRAN Committee.

FTA Press Office

01892 552255